Honors, Awards, & Graduation!

Sophomore Janna Rosengarten was selected to represent the school for the annual Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Conference, which she attended from May 17 to 19. While at the conference, Rosengarten was able to network with students from around the state and learn principles of leadership and community service.

Seniors were recognized during the annual senior awards ceremony on Friday, May 17. Award winners were Diana Torres and Aaron Schilling (Citizenship), Khalia Baptiste and Patrick Tang (Leadership), Grace Todd and Luis Valentin (Service), Ashraf Chowdhury (Principal’s Award of Merit), and Jakai Walker (Honorary School Service Award).  Others recognized included Torres (Jostens Award for Scholastic Excellence), Jahmir Roy (Contributions to Local Publications), Carla Tilghman and Deandre Weatherly (Above and Beyond School Leadership issued by the Delaware State Police Association), Richard Gantt (National Choral Award), and Tang (John Philip Sousa Award).

The Department Awards went to the following students: Sarah Jeon (Visual Arts), Chowdhury (Engineering of Robotics, Graphic Design & Production, and Process of Design & Engineering), Sean Lewis (Jobs for Delaware Grads), Samantha Ruppersberger (Digital Media), Teja Jones (Automotive Technology), Shanice Sutton (Computer Aided Drafting), Travis Miller (Yearbook), Schilling (Choir, World Languages, English, and Social Studies), Roy (Choir), Damajay Holcomb (Band), Tia Hampton (Band), and Tang (Science).  The Outstanding Senior Female Athlete was Todd and the Outstanding Senior Male Athlete was Kenneth Henderson.

The Meadowood program also recognized their seniors for various distinctions including: Cassidy Yanson (Visual Art Skills), Hannah Harrell (English Language Arts Skill), Rayna Cruz-Ortiz (Math Skills), Walker (Vocation Arts), Justin Hall (Outstanding Effort), and Katrina Doerr (Mobility). Each student was also cited for their contributions for Special Olympics.

Graduation rehearsal for seniors will be held tomorrow in the auditorium at 8am. Contact graduation coordinator Kathryn Sheehy for details. Commencement will take place at the Bob Carpenter Center on Saturday, June 1 at 3pm. Tickets for the event will be given to graduating seniors during Friday’s rehearsal.

Final examinations will be administered to non-seniors next week from June 3 to June 7.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.