This Week at Dickinson: NGTA staff honored, prom court, Honor Society inductions, and more!

The Delaware State Chamber of Commerce held a special ceremony on Thursday, May 16 in the auditorium to recognize the staff members of the Ninth Grade Transition Academy. The NGTA was awarded with one of this year’s Superstars in Education awards. The same staff members were also honored at a ceremony at the Riverfront Arts Center in Wilmington on Tuesday, May 7.

The junior/senior prom was held on Friday, May 10 at Hockessin Memorial Hall. The prom court consisted of Taylor Adams, Carolina Barrera, O’Deja Crumpler, Spachell Fairley, Britney Fontes, and Hannah Harrell on the ladies’ side; and Dan Baker, Chris Cordova, Atiba Mayfield, Frank Nasser, Luis Valentin, and Jakai Walker on the gentlemen’s side. The winners of queen and king were Adams and Nasser, respectively. The prom was hosted by the junior class and class advisor Maria Colon.

National Honor SocietyThe National Honor Society held its induction ceremony on Tuesday. The inductees were: juniors Bailey Andrews, Amanda Birowski, Nicholas Bossert, Ezra Brooks, Yat Tung Chan, Anthony Chen, Allison Chinnery, Shayonna Edwards, Carsten Faubel, Mac Ferguson, Skylar Hoffman, Ayodele  Mack, Steven Mai-Le, Jasmine Miller, Jamie O’Neill, Christian Ramsay, Katerina Seifert, Maximilian Stankiewicz, Ralph Stormer, Asha Swanson, Wai Ho (Vince) Tang, Laniya Thompson, Amber Warrick, Kaitlyn Watson, Taylor Webb, and Lauren Zimmerman; and sophomores Rachel Dhar, Jaeyoung Lee, Shyam Patel, Emily Ragan, Janna Rosengarten, Seth Schilling, Bailey Smith, Matthew Stormer, and Daniel White. The NHS is advised by Kathy Sheehy.

Following auditions, the 2013-2014 Dickinson Singers, the school’s most exclusive chorale ensemble was announced by chorale director Matt Jufer. The members for next school year are: Kezia Benson, Brooke Blackney, Geondre Brooks, Ayana Campbell, Rachel Dhar, Jeff Gralewski, Courtney Henry-White, Ayodele Mack, Jamie O’Neill, Jada Price, Johance Saintume, Christian Shaver, Joey St. Pierre, Saralyn Taylor, Laniya Thompson, Amber Warrick, and Daniel White.

James Tugbe was selected as Creative Writer of the Month of April in Kristen Zerbe’s Creative Writing class.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.